RSS

A Tribute to Dear Diary…

07 Aug

Dear Diary, 

I don’t know, I don’t know what sort of anxiety has entangled me these days. They say life is too short, very short in fact and combating with various checkpoints we are supposed to accomplish innumerable targets, discover new horizons and mark flags of victory. But diary, dire circumstances on the way bully me sometimes. Frankly speaking, at times they seem something insoluble. Though for a moment, but they make me down. But then a mere look into the lives of heroes of the history lifts me up. My conscience whispers. It whispers that they were also human beings na. Just like me! When they were born or were at my age they didn’t know their names would be written in golden chapters of the history. Did they know one day some of them would be named father of the nation, some would be legendary scholars, some renowned scientists, mathematicians, businessmen, doctors, CAs and engineers? Of course, they didn’t. Just like me they would also have dreamt a lot, at first. And probably also would have pressurized at some stages of their life, just as I am sometimes. But interesting thing is that they kept on. They kept on dreaming. They worked! Explored! And achieved! They believed in the saying, the purpose of life is a life of purpose. If I keep on like they did, who knows tomorrow my name might also be penned just beside that of them. Or perhaps, anyone of those who is reading this page of yours might also see his/her name in the list of those legendaries… Who knows!

Hey diary, you know I still remember that foggy frosty night when over a cup of hot coffee, my companion in winters, I was conversing with you. You whispered in my heart that difficulties are part of life, friend. Over the sips of hot coffee, your encouraging words stirred my passion. You made me realize just as sheen of a diamond is truly witnessed in darkness similarly, one can relish the true essence of success only if one passes through various difficulties on the way. And not only passes but simultaneously combats with them manly. You were very right; success without hard work is just a stroke of luck. It doesn’t contain the real excitement, the actual joy.

Diary, I’m grateful to you, for your supreme advices. They have always been extremely advantageous. I remember when I was 10, I wept a lot to get that mountain bike. Helpless to my cry, Amme finally asked Dady to buy me the bicycle. It was her love that she could not see me crying and fulfilled my childish demand. And it’s not once in life. Many times it happens, not only with me but almost with everyone, whenever our parents don’t bring us what we want; we sob incessantly unless our desire is fulfilled. But these are the diminutive matters what about the ones that are the major ones. Fighting with whom is not child’s play. At times such dire circumstances make us down, despondent not for a moment but for many days, months and sometimes even years. We get disheartened at once. Feel lonely and miserable as the world has ended and no one would listen to our entreaties. Same was the case with me once. Then it was you, who once again whispered in my heart that if we can weep in front of our parents to get tiny things then why can’t we supplicate before our Creator for the solution of these dire circumstances? Work day in day out and then pray before Him to help us out. He is the One Who loves His beings more than 70 mothers. Human mentality is unable to assimilate the extent of a single mother’s love for her child, what will be that of 70 mothers? Fathomless! Ask Him confidently. Be firm in asking and make the desire great, as what Allah gives is nothing great for Him.

We even shed crocodile tears before our mother and her motherhood never disappoints us than how is it possible that He who loves more than 70 mothers would let us down? Ummm ok, let suppose He doesn’t grant us what we pray for. What to do now? Leave supplicating? Or do not pray? Well, when our parents don’t buy us what we demand, we don’t leave them na. Do we? As we know they are our guardians, we would be of zero without them. Later on we realize that there was something better for us that they didn’t buy us the thing we craved for (or even if there wasn’t any betterment, our parents have right as they already have done innumerable favors for us). The same goes for our Creator. He grants us whatever we pray for. But if He doesn’t; mind it there is something better for us which at times doesn’t reveal to us at the moment. But in long run we ourselves say, “Acha huwa wo kam nhi huwa…

Dear Diary, I’ve taken much of your time today. But let me thank you from the core of my heart for being my companion. I share my heart with you, live my life in you. You are my best chum, my teacher, my instructor. I can’t live without you! Thanks for guiding me whenever I needed.

Regards,

FD

(Smash Magazine, Aug 2011)
 
13 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2011 in Dil ke Batain

 

13 responses to “A Tribute to Dear Diary…

  1. Arsh Azim

    August 7, 2011 at 2:45 am

    love love love it. touchy <3

     
  2. Taimur Ahmad

    August 8, 2011 at 3:05 am

    It seems to me that your diary is a Horcrux of some ancient noble man…. Can I have that for few days??? plz plz plz

     
  3. Ayesha Pervez

    August 8, 2011 at 4:21 am

    FD Sheikh…. I am speechless…. I really enjoyed this… it touched my heart… such true and inspiring words… mashaALLAH. Super! Also, I now know you write a diary too :))

    -Ayesha Pervez

     
  4. The Sorrowful Muse by the Candlelight by Ayesha Pervez

    August 8, 2011 at 6:34 am

    FD Sheikh,,, I am speechless… ‘true’, ‘inspiring’, fulfilling, and ‘touching’ are just some of the words that begin to describe this diary entry… almost brought tears to my eyes… and yes… I feel that history books will have a name in their pages … “FD Sheikh”.

     
  5. Samia Khan

    August 13, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    I’m speechless. Really. This is just beautiful!! Gave me hope and courage.

     
  6. FD Sheikh

    August 14, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Thank you all, I’m extremely humbled. :)

     
  7. FD Sheikh

    August 14, 2011 at 5:44 am

    @ taimur
    it contains some precious secrets of my life. so accept my sincere apologies. ;)

     
  8. FD Sheikh

    August 14, 2011 at 5:45 am

    G Ayesha B, I write diary. Not regularly though. :)

     
  9. SadiYa AkHtar

    August 26, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Astounding…!!
    Very nicely put up fd :)
    I must say that Diary’s way of thinking is truly Inspiring, its every line holds a lesson.
    Ummm I wanna buy that diary, whats the price? :p

     
  10. FD Sheikh

    August 26, 2011 at 2:44 am

    My diary is of Spiritual worth Sadiya. it is priceless. it might be available after my departure to the world hereafter. ;D
    Thank you btw. :)

     
  11. SadiYa AkHtar

    August 26, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Oh Oh Dialogue o.o
    *faint*

     
  12. Lubaina Ehsan

    August 27, 2011 at 12:11 am

    This is thought-provoking :)..
    The way yu explained the greatness that can be in everbody and the way you showed how much our Creator loves us, i just got one simple word for it:
    AMAZING! :)

    p.s. I like how you wrote all this to a diary rather than being abrupt n tellin ppl to listen to you ;)..

     
  13. FD.Sheikh

    August 27, 2011 at 12:12 am

    Thank you so much Lubaina. I’m humbled indeed. :)

    @ PS:
    lolz actually, people get bored if we write or talk to them in “advice-wali-tone”, you know. :D

     

Leave a Reply

 
