RSS

Wish What You Wish For…!

08 Aug

11
Breathe slowly, but deeply. Now close your eyes and pray or make a wish with the firm belief that it’s going to be definitely fulfilled. Now open your eyes. What did you wish for?
“I wished to become a doctor”, “I wished to have a bungalow and a sports car of my own”, “I wished to stand first in my class”, “I prayed to complete my semester with flying colours”, “I wished a prosperous life”, “I wished to be able to perform Hajj”, “I wished to possess all the Barbie dolls in the world”, “I wished to be a celebrity in future” — these are some of the things most of you would have wished for.
But have you observed how self-centred we are? The dearest thing to us is nothing other than our own self. Our parents, our siblings, our friends were nowhere in our prayers, in our wishes that were made from the depth of our heart. Our parents, siblings and other relatives also our own flesh and blood but we hunger for our own betterment and progress. That’s something really odd on our part, isn’t it?
Close your eyes once again and repeat the process with the same devotion and belief. Now open your eyes. What did you wish for this time?
“I wished joy and happiness for me and for my family”, “I wished to be able to send my parents for Hajj from my own hard-earned money”, “I prayed that all my wishes and that of my siblings get fulfilled” — hmmm, that’s good. The canvas has broadened up a bit this time. First we prayed for ourselves only, now our families are also included in our prayers.
Now suppose you are standing in front of a billionaire and you are asked to demand whatever amount of money you wish for, with a surety you would be given that particular amount. Undoubtedly, taking the best advantage of this golden opportunity, you are going to demand a pretty handsome amount (some of you may even ask for the entire sum). But what if someone just says, “Just give me 50 rupees.” You would gaze at that person strangely and without waiting for a single moment you are going to certify him as a dunce. But what if you also behave like this dunce?
Surprised? See, we acknowledge the immeasurable generosity of the Almighty Allah but when it comes to making a wish or asking Him to grant us something, we just do what the other fellow did by asking for just Rs50 when he could have asked for millions.
In the same way, we tend to pray only for ourselves and widen our circle only to our family members. It’s silly of us to ask for so little despite knowing there are boundless bounties that Almighty Allah can bestow on His beings. We don’t include the entire humanity in our prayers, that’s should be the right way of praying before the Creator of the entire universe.
Recently, in our class when our teacher made us the aforementioned exercise, all of us were amazed at our foolishness. The Creator of the universe is inviting all of us to wish for whatever we want, but, inauspiciously, we are not making good of the golden opportunity. We, the dim-witted souls, are yearning for a drop of water from the sea that is simply beyond measurement.
Today, let’s promise ourselves to include the entire humanity in our prayers and supplications, and pray in the right manner

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2010 in Dil ke Batain

 

9 responses to “Wish What You Wish For…!

  1. Anito

    April 8, 2009 at 3:46 am

    PFFT
    I dont even pray.

     
  2. Anito

    April 8, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I am a Catholic. I remember when I was young my mother used to pray with me before going to bed.

     
  3. Anito

    April 8, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I’ll link up your blog.

     
  4. Anito

    April 8, 2009 at 3:54 am

    I once prayed for the safety of the Sea Turtles.

     
  5. [Meow]

    April 8, 2009 at 7:48 am

    I wish I was eating a chicky pizza.

    So… I wish everyone in the world was eating a chicky pizza. =Pp

     
  6. fdsheikh

    April 9, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    @ Anito
    Y don’t you pray?
    And where would you link up the blog. Please share the with me. :)

    @ Meow
    what a stupendous wish…! hehe :p

     
  7. fdsheikh

    April 9, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    the link*

     
  8. Anito

    April 11, 2009 at 10:36 am

    My blog is in private mode. Send me your username here in wordpress so I can add you up and allow you to see it my wordpress blog.

    http://myattendanceslip.wordpress.com

    my email is rqacosta@gmail.com

     
  9. Anito

    April 11, 2009 at 10:36 am

    :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
