RSS

I love you MOM!

12 May

 

I love you MOM!

Because. . . .

Because on countless occasions, she has made my happiness and wellbeing a priority over her own comfort and enjoyment.

– Because she has this magic that when things are not right, she somehow makes me feel better.

– Because she’s pleasant, easy going and NEVER in a bad mood.

– Because any quality that I may possess is due to her upbringing.

– Because no one else in the world loves me ”Unconditionally”.

Ayesha Pervez

 

I love ammi for:

 

o The way she monitors it all – “so long as you are under my roof, you are answerable to me…”

o The easy, loving, informal bond (with plenty of mutual teasing and friendly banter), she shares with her siblings.

o For all the cool genes (book-reading, travelling) and even the not-so-cool ones (bad oratory skills, inability to bargain).

o Oh yes, the carrot cakes in winters! (Rich but good for eyesight, you see!)

o Her little nuggets of wisdom – “when you get to be my age, you’ll understand…”

Saad Javed

 

Instead of giving run-of-the-mill reasons about why I love my mother, I’d love to contribute by quoting some quotes which I found rather poignant. And they are as such:

I”Mother is the name for God in the lips and hearts of little children.”  –William Thackeray

I”I regard no man as poor who has a godly mother.” –Abraham Lincoln

I”A mother is the one who is still there when everyone else has deserted you.”

–Unknown

I”Sometimes the poorest woman leaves her children the richest inheritance.” –Ruth Reinkay

I”A mother understands what a child does not say.” — Unknown

And that is pretty much my 5 reasons why I my mother so much

Awais Imran

 

– Because she is always there for me no matter whether I’m right or wrong.

– She stands up for me against dad ;)

– She is the first person I go to when I need something and she always understands.

– She is my best friend because she listens to all the stupid things I keep saying all the time.

– And I don’t know, she is just too good to be my mother :)

Fatima Zakir

 

Happy mother’s day

Umm… why do I love my mother? Well, it is because,

– Mother is the purest form of love – the “unselfish love” that is why she truly deserves to be loved and revered.

– She is my key to success not only in this mortal life but in the one hereafter as well.

– Whenever I envisage her presence in my life, it grants me “spiritual” satisfaction.

– She is just like a cloud of God’s mercy as she manages the entire family of mine. Even today, when two of my brothers are married, still our family is simply crippled without her decent management.

– She is the BEST desi-food cook. It’s an open challenge…Hai koi meri Amma jesa cook tou samnay a’ay… :p 8-)

F.D. Sheikh

 

-Even if we get into an argument and stop talking for a week, she still somehow manages to check on me every night while I’m asleep during that week.

-On a normal day my mother will only cook things like daal and kaddu, but if I have a craving she turns into super chef and whips up exactly what I ask for in a matter of minutes, regardless of how complicated the recipe is.

-She tries to convince me I resemble her at times, (she’s fair skinned and has green eyes, I’m wheatish with dark brown eyes). One day when she had nothing else she settled for “your bone structure is the same as mine.”

-She may listen to my sister more and pamper my brother more, but no one is given more attention than me! Proof of this is the fact that my room miraculously cleans itself, my clothes magically appear in my drawers and my books supernaturally place themselves back on the shelves. Ma ki dua sab kuch kar sakti hai (aur ma khud bhi)!

-She tells me she believes in me even when she knows I’m about to fall into a gutter; the only way to learn is through experience and my mom has taught me well (how not to fall into gutters).

Luavut Zahid

 

I personally feel that one can’t reason out love. You love somebody just because you love them and that’s all. But since you’ve asked me to list just five reasons (out of the countless ones) so here they are:

PShe is someone who understands my personality more than I do.

PShe is one of those rare people whose love for me is unconditional.

PShe is one of the primary sources of peace in our home.

PShe is always nice to people. Even to those she doesn’t know. And well, is always ready to welcome countless guests. Sigh! No matter how irritated we feel at times. This indeed is a quality which not many people possess nowadays.

PBecause Allah wants me to love her :) And this one reason encompasses the entire philosophy of love perhaps.

Naeema Akram

 

– She is the one who has given me the most in my life, including life itself.

– Her affectionate smile and warm embrace is the best joy for me.

– For me, she is the only person who’d understand me beyond and without words.

– With her around, I need not keep diaries.

– Last, but not the least, anything she cooks is my favourite cuisine. :P

Salman Latif

 

-She gave birth to me, and had no idea what I would turn out to be, and yet she didn’t let that faze her. That’s hope.

-She could have had a life of her own, but she spent it all for me. That’s sacrifice.

-She puts up with all my mistakes and disappointments. That’s patience.

-She believes in me. That’s faith.

-She takes all the pain I give her and folds it into her gracious heart with a smile. That’s love. How can I not love her back?

Awais Aftab

 

It’s just one of those questions that are really hard to answer. This question got me thinking because we all love our mothers but all that love and respect cannot be expressed in a few words. It’s one of those feelings that you feel a lot about and think you can say a lot on, but really cannot put those feelings into words. Even if you do try you still consider them unworthy and an injustice done to your mother’s love as no words can compare to it. But still few of the many reasons why I consider my mother to be so great are:

– Her selfless love and devotion. Come winters, excruciating hot summers, health and sickness, good conditions and bad conditions, her love and devotion never ends.

– Her endurance. She listens to her family cry, whine, shout, fight, ask to do this and that but her endurance is remarkable. She never complains.

– Her understanding and friendly mind-set. It is very easy to talk to her and tell her things that’s why she is my good friend as well as my mother.

– Her bravery and strong will power. She went for Umrah with her elderly mother and father, took care of them and helped them do Umrah. It’s not only me, everyone says that she is very courageous.

– Her outstanding talents. Her habit of doing everything herself and her talents have taught me that it is best to be independent. It’s because of her I know everything, and have learned to rely on my own self.

And not to mention that it’s her writing talent that has been passed on to me and because of which I’m writing all this. So I can’t thank God enough for giving me such a wonderful mother. Thanks for everything Ammi jee.

Rabia Tanvir

 

Five reasons why I love my mother? Well, to be very frank, I can’t think of even one reason for that, let alone five. I think reasons are required for those facts that fall in the dimension of rationalism. While talking about love, we leave behind all our basic rational postulates, and all our mundane logics fail there. Love is something beyond the logical premise we normally use to analyse or reason. Love is unaware of ‘good’ or ‘bad’, ‘gain’ or ‘loss’, ‘true’ or ‘false’, and that puts it in another dimension of what we call ‘logic’.

Tum mohobbat mein kahaan sood o zayaan lay aaye?

Ishq ka naam khirad hay, na junoon hay, yoon hay!

–Faraz

I can claim that I love my mother because she cooks delicious meals for me, or because she irons my clothes, or because she gives me pocket money but the fact is that even if she didn’t do all this, I would still love her. Why, I don’t know. It’s something innate; there’s no reason for that. The thing that matters now is the end result. And that’s that I love her… Love you, Ammi! :)

Ali Suleman

 

Love does not need a reason. And to find reasons why I love my mother, someone I haven’t imagined my life without, is even more difficult. What I am listing below are not reasons, but, some qualities that my mother and perhaps all mothers have. After all, she is the reason I am!

– She has been my closest friend all my life. A friend is someone you can share your secrets with and I have always been comfortable sharing my secrets with my mother.

– She has been the real motivator for me. Whatever I have achieved is nothing but a result of the motivation provided by my mother.

– She is my biggest support, like when someone says something about me or when I fight with someone, I don’t feel lost for I know my mum will support me, no matter what.

– She is an unconditional lover, she never asks for anything in return.

– I have always been the top priority of my mother; she would do anything to make me feel happy, even if she has to sacrifice her own happiness for that.

Nabeel Naqvi

 

There are tons of reasons why I love her, which can’t be summed up! To list a few:

– My mom makes the most amazing food ever.

– She takes me out for shopping whenever I want but would say no to buying things at first. Then, she secretly goes to the same shop again and buys me the thing I so wanted!

– She listens to all the rubbish that I utter even if she’s not interested, which is mostly the case.

– She argues with me but then listens to what I have to say and agrees!

And I also love her because she is going to get me that new 10 mega pixel Sony cyber shot in pink colour very soon! Right, mom? ;)

Hafsah Sarfraz

 

– Because she’s my mom, and that in itself is reason enough; I mean, I don’t think we need “reasons” to love our parents. The fact that they are our parents sums it all up.

– Because she’s my closest, “bestest” friend; my sounding board, and my ultimate confidante.

– Because despite the fact that I’ve hurt her more times than I can count, she has always forgiven me.

– Because she has made me who I am today.

– And because she’s lovely and deserves all the love in the world. I love you, mom!

Sameen Amer

 

My reasons for loving my mum are;

– She is a very humble lady, very tolerant and down-to-earth.

– She has always been like a friend to me. I can share everything with her.

– She is very cute and slightly chubby, lol, I naturally feel like hugging her all the time.

– My mama doesn’t feel at ease while using latest gadgets, and I love it when she innocently asks me how to send a text message :)

– Her lame anger… God, I fall for her when she tries to be angry because anger and my mama are two opposite things.

– I love my mommy… I love EVERYTHING about her. Long live, mommy. Love you :-)

Sehar Sheikh

 

Because:

M is for the million things she gives me.

O means only that she’s too soft.

T for the things she tries to teach me.

H is for her heart of the purest gold.

E for her eyes with love light shining.

R means right and right she’ll always be.

But most of all, I love her for no reason. I just do it!

Jasir Jawaid

 

There are no political reasons behind my love for my mom; seriously, I won’t even vote for her if she stands in elections.

Well, one of the reasons for liking her is that just like me she supports General Pervez Musharraf.

I love my mom because she taught me how to drive.

I love my mommy because she has given me permission to get a girl of my choice (of course for marriage).

I love my mom because she has given me her ATM card with pin number, too. (I hate people who are so materialistic).

On this Mother’s Day I would like to tell all the mothers that like always our country is going through a difficult time and it is high time that all the mothers unite and work for the betterment of our country. We can start our own political party ‘MQM’ (Mothers Quami Movement). At least Imran khan would vote for it!

Waqas Hassan Sharif

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2009 in Events

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “I love you MOM!

  1. Anito

    May 19, 2009 at 8:28 am

    I wish I still have my mom.

     
  2. [Meow]

    June 7, 2009 at 4:36 am

    To begin with – I LOVE MY MUM!

    Annnddd.. [Ayesha Pervez: Because no one else in the world loves me ”Unconditionally”.]

    VERY true. One of the never-ending points regarding the beauty of mothers is that everyone – and when I say everyone, I mean everyone – has, always has, the knowledge that, no matter what happens, at least one person loves them. Blindly. And unconditionally.

    She might scold you, tell you off – even beat you up when you’ve been exceptionally naughty – but, at the end of it all, she’s always there. ALWAYS. She’ll let you go when the time comes but, you know, she’ll NEVER let you go, unprotected. And she has this awesome ability to forget all the pain she has been through, for her children, this inadvertent habit of saying “Oh, I’m really not hungry” when there are four people, and only three slices of pizza.

    Just one thing I’d like to say in the end – Farhanbhayya, I still think MY mum’s the best desi-food cook. EVER. =pp

     
  3. M. M.

    August 21, 2009 at 7:06 am

    First I considered Luavut Zahid’s response as yours… I was shocked to know that you wouldn’t talk to your mother for a week o.o
    Thanks God I was wrong… you saved yourself from a scolding :P :P
    And your answers were quite simple, yet intenself sweet (:

    when two of my brothers are married, still our family is simply crippled without her decent management.
    You highlighted the importance of a woman :P :P Be her a mother, a sister, a daughter or a wife (:

    Lastly, my mommy can challenge yours (;
    :D :D

     
  4. fdsheikh

    August 21, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    @ Kashaf & M.M

    NO ONE has challenged her yet! :p Every one remains restrict to his/her word of mouth.. :P

     
  5. fdsheikh

    August 21, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Ya Luavat’s comment was astounding for me as well. :s Anyway, thanks God you got to the right track in the end..and found “my” comments.. :P

    “You highlighted the importance of a woman :P :P Be her a mother, a sister, a daughter or a wife (:”

    Well to be honest, Mothers can never be replaced… Mother is the best form of Woman, i feel…

     
  6. M. M.

    August 23, 2009 at 10:37 am

    I agree :P But that sentence of yours highlighted the important of them all (; We’re better mangers than you :D

     
  7. Tea Dress

    November 17, 2010 at 7:32 am

    green eyes specially those deep green ones are very unique and very attractive. i really love those `”*

     
  8. Asma

    March 19, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    awww sooo sweet:)

     
  9. FD Sheikh

    March 21, 2011 at 2:12 am

    :)

     
  10. FD Sheikh

    March 21, 2011 at 2:15 am

    @ M. M.
    Agreed! :P

     
  11. FD Sheikh

    May 11, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    Reblogged this on In the name of Humanity… and commented:

    Happy Mothers’ Day to all Moms! :)
    (The write up was originally published in The News)

     

Leave a Reply

 
